Tags

, , , , , , ,

The finished dish!

Here’s the funny thing about me making this dish: I don’t eat seafood. As in, at all. I just don’t care for it. But in the interest of culinary experience, treating my seafood-loving husband to a dish he loves, AND putting a newly-acquired paella pan to use, I went for it. Not half bad for a first attempt. There are so many variations and methods. We used clams, mussels, shrimp, chorizo, and chicken in the dish. In my paella research, I found a couple of repeated themes: key to a good paella is developing a golden crust on the bottom of the rice called socarrat (while being careful not to burn it); and not stirring the rice once the liquid is added . My paella pan is rather large, 18 1/2 inches in diameter, and it (mostly) covered two burners on my stove. The pan had to be rotated regularly to try and spread the heat evenly.

The recipe I used as a base is this one. I’ll update this post soon to show how I modified it and the steps I took.