Easy, Make Your Own Chorizo

I wanted to use chorizo in a black bean dish this weekend, and all I could find was the dried kind; the kind that you slice like pepperoni. I wanted fresher chorizo, so I decided to make my own (minus the casings!) 

In doing a little research, I learned that there are distinct differences between Spanish, Mexican, and Portugese chorizos. Since my inspiration for dinner was Mexican cooking this weekend, I wanted to make something closer to an authentic Mexican chorizo.

One of the techniques I learned was to combine the pork sausage with all of the flavorings, really work it all together, then let the meat sit in your refrigerator for up to a couple of days to let the flavors meld nicely. I only had a few hours to let the spices really infuse themselves into the meat, but that few hours really made a difference.

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb pork sausage
  • 1 1/2 tbsp paprika
  • 1 1/2 tbsp chili powder
  • 1/2 tsp fresh ground black pepper
  • 1/4 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp cloves
  • 1/8 tsp coriander, ground
  • 1/8 tsp ginger
  • 1 tsp Mexican oregano
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 3 cloves of garlic, minced finely
  • 2 tbsp white vinegar
  • 2 tbsp sherry or brandy

Combine all ingredients in a bowl. I put disposable gloves on and really mashed and mixed it together with my hands – it’s the easiest way. Cover the meat and refrigerate it for up to 2 days.

You can substitute various dried chiles for the chili powder – anchos, other dried red chiles.

More about the various types of chorizo here.

Laura

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Wow you must be reading my mind I was just telling my husband about the chorizo from the store being way to greasy and I hadn’t found any I enjoyed since the fresh that my family made in Mexico. Thanks for this post, I really look forward to trying it.

    1. Laura says:

      Thank you again! You’re making me hungry for it again too, so I’ll have to make this again very soon. LOL!

Leave a comment